Owosso Musicale Presidents’ Letter for 2016-17 Season

Post date: Oct 2, 2016 1:28:32 PM

Owosso Musicale Presidents’ Letter for 2016-17 Season

Dear Musicale Members

It is time to think musically as we begin the 80th season of Owosso Musicale! Prepare to enjoy our anniversary all year with special programs, people and fellowship. We celebrate eighty years of music, service and mentoring musicians in Shiawassee County….and a century for our National Music Federation!

As we enjoy the celebration within our club, it is especially important to involve potential new members for the longevity of our purpose and local club. We want to invite and involve as many people as possible! Think of music lovers to invite and join us for our wonderful programs. Bring guests and potential members as we reach out to the community. It would be wonderful to no longer be the ‘best kept secret in Shiawassee County’. Perhaps the friend you invite has been hoping you would ask him or her!! (You will find a letter attached that you can print to inform or invite a friend!)

Your Program Committee and Board of Directors and have been busy over the summer to develop a program that will focus on different aspects of the arts and our outreach over the years. Our season starts on Monday, October 10th at Christ Episcopal church at noon with Samantha Gowen from MSU playing French Horn after a very special Presidents’ Tea. This is our meeting to honor our past presidents, and the memories of those not with us, by contributing to our scholarship fund as we begin our year-long celebration of the 80 years since Owosso Musicale was founded.

Our schedule for 2016-17 will be:

*Monday, October 10, Noon at Christ Episcopal Church. Performer: Samantha Gowen, French Horn

*Monday, November 14, Noon at Christ Episcopal Church, Patriotic celebration with Meridian Strings ensemble and OM Chorus

*Monday, December 5th , 11:30am, Holiday Luncheon at D’Mar Banquet Center, Performers: OHS Dancers under the direction of OHS teacher, Amy Bickley

***No January Meeting- Happy New Year!

**Sunday, February 12th 3PM, First Baptist Church, An Afternoon with Pooh Stevens and Jim Spring

*Monday, March 13th, Noon at Christ Episcopal Church, Music Award Winners

*Monday, April 10th, Noon at Christ Episcopal Church, Janie Hoffa, Flute with Laura Hoffa-Johnson accompanying her daughter.

*Monday, May 8th, 11:30am, Anniversary Luncheon at Shiawassee Arts Council with past award winners

Thank you to Program our program committee: Donna Benson, Sue Degerstrom, Tom Elliott, Cheryl Gapinski, Sue Henry, Sharon Robinson, and Donna Rose.

We appreciate the special effort to make this year a showcase of the musical talent of Shiawassee County and OM award winners. Another “thank you” goes to Lila Gerber and tea chairpersons as well as all members of tea committees. We couldn’t function without volunteers!!

New this year is a corps of members who wish to let all know that they are available to share a ride to OM meetings or Chorus practices. This is just another way this warm-hearted group embraces our fellowship of music. It is easy to call one of the volunteers listed in our booklet because they love your company!

Also new, is that Owosso Musicale has co-presidents for the 2016-17 program year. Donna Benson and Sue Henry have taken the lead in an unusual arrangement that they both are anticipating to make this special year a fun one. Each recognizes the talents and strengths brought to Musicale, as well as family and other time constraints. You will see Sue leading the meetings for the first half of the year, and Donna for the winter months. Planning to work closely together, either Donna or Sue are glad to discuss any of your concerns or suggestions.

Most importantly, we want to note that Sue Degerstrom, after twenty-five years, has retired to become our President Emeritus/Past President. In honor of her service and all the contributions she has made to our club and organization, we are dedicating the Past President Tea Fundraiser to Sue. Please consider what your gift may be this year as these funds will be designated to a special award fund that we will ask Sue to designate.

Sh-h-h! This is a secret to honor a very special lady!

We trust all have renewed your membership for the year so you can enjoy the variety of programs for this special year. If you still need to pay your dues, please contact treasurer, Cheryl Gapinski at (989) 725-8668 or cell: (989) 666-7233; email: gapinski1043@chartermi.net or address: 1043 Chipman Lane, Owosso MI 48867. Program booklets have been printed and will be available at the first meeting. Let us know if you need to have it delivered to you.

Looking forward to seeing you on October 10th! It is just around the corner.

Donna Benson Sue Henry

Co-president Co-president

FYI: The Michigan Federation of Music Clubs may be chartering a bus to go to the National Federation of Music Clubs Convention that will be leaving from Lansing and going to the convention in Dayton, Ohio from June 21 to 25, 2017.

(Start thinking if you wish to go!

Sue Henry thinks she may be able to get permission for Owosso folks to park & board the bus in Owosso.)